This option will reset the home page of this site. Restoring any closed widgets or categories.


National and International Leaders


"Fulbrighters have also been extraordinarily active and successful in the world: 34 have won Nobel prizes; 65 have won Pulitzer prizes; 21 have received MacArthur Foundation "Genius" Awards; 14 have received the presidential medal of freedom, our nation’s highest honour..

In the Fulbright Program’s 58-year history, more than a quarter of a million Americans and foreign citizens have benefited from this experience. But whether they become prime ministers or poets, scientists or senators, educators or engineers, Fulbrighters have carried with them a better understanding of cultures other than their own, and as a result, they serve as agents of change, and they contribute to the advancement of knowledge and international understanding."

Former U.S. Secretary of State, Collin L. Powel. – 2004

Sri Lankan Fulbrighters

  • Prof., K M de Silva – Historian
  • Prof., Ashley Halpe – Professor of Literature
  • Mr Bradman Weerakoon – Senior Civil Servant and Secretary to 7 Prime Ministers of Sri Lanka
  • Shirani Bandaranayake – Supreme Court Justice

United States and Other Countries

  • Maya Angelou – Poet , USA
  • Aaron Copland – Composer, USA
  • Milton Friedman – Nobel Prize in Economics , USA
  • John Updike – Writer, USA
  • Roslyn Yalow – Noel Prize in Medicine , USA
  • Chinua Achebe -Writer, Nigeria
  • Ingvar Carlsson – Prime Minister , Sweden
  • Umbreto Eco – Writer, Italy
  • M. Khusro – Editor-in-Chief, Financial Express, India
  • Carlos Ott – Architect , Uruguay